top of page
tanomura chokunyu imao keinen sukuki hyakunen painting view-3

Tanomura Chokunyu | Painting


A pair of scrolls with depictions of Nagasena and Subinda, two Rakan (Arhat) painted by Imao Keinen. Suzuki Hyakunen added a text by Zibo Zhenke (1543–1603) - an outstanding Chinese Zen priest - about the accurate depiction of the two Arhats. The mounting is inscribed and decorated by Tanomura Chokunyu.


Nagasena supporting his head with one hand.

Inscription: "Arhat Nagasena supports his head with one hand, opens mouth and shows his tongue. He laughs loud showing his throat. His eyes moves and so do the eye brows. Opens mouth and shows his tongue. Understands things with honesty. Hands bent and lifted up. Behind there are clouds and mountains. Spring flows. His ears do not listen, the heart does. Written by Hyakunen" - The painting is signed "Keinen sanjin".

Inscription on the mounting (in black ink):
"Chokunyu drew this, originally it was colourful with green willows and red flowers."   


Subinda sitting on a stone.

Inscription: "Arhat Subinda is sitting on a stone in lotus seat, right hand fisted, left hand in the pocket, long eye brows cover face. One hand fisted, another is on the knee. He sits in lotus position always. Narrow face and head not smooth. If asked the Buddhist preach, his eye brows cover his sight. - Written by Hyakunen" - The painting is signed "Keinen sanjin".

Inscription on the mounting (in red ink):
"He reached Nirvana. And preaching it, his life has been in the dream. Written by Chokunyu."


buy now 


Tanomura Chokunyu (1814-1907), painting and calligraphy on the mounting.

Suzuki Hyakunen (1828-1891), calligraphy in the painting

Imao Keinen (1845-1924), painting

Ink an color on fabric

114.4 x 36.1 cm (45 x 14 1/4 in.)

Mounting 190 x 48 cm (74 3/4 x 19 in.)
Wooden box

SKU: 2516
bottom of page